Spirituality

HappyFarm

Spirituality

For us spirituality is not something aloof, something in the sky and separate from daily life but an expression of a good motivation in manifold forms of being and acting. Therefore it is natural for us to have the basic understanding, that generally each living being, as small as it may be, only wants happiness according to its possibilities and doesn't want suffering, just as we do! This is why we practice Non-Violent Agriculture and strive in our daily life not to harm or intentionally kill any living being, not even mosquitoes! On our farm we therefore do not slaughter animals and we do not consume meat. We have become vegetarian many years ago and we see the animals which live with us almost like trade partners: We provide them food, shelter and medical care and they share their natural products like eggs and milk with us. From our goat milk we produce many varieties of cheese as well as yoghurt for our own consumption. In our vegetable production we do not use pesticides or herbicides, not even the natural ones permitted by the organic farmer's association, since their use also kills many small insects. To fertilise our fields we only use the natural manure of our own goats, horses and chicken. When necessary we treat our vegetable plants with homeopathic medicines. We also discovered a homeopathic repellant for slugs which keeps them away without the need to kill them. There is so much grassland around our vegetable garden where they can lead a happy slug's life.

Barbara entered her spiritual life through Christianity and her social work. For more than 20 years she was strongly enganged with various christian communities and studied the Bible from front to back in all detail. In her search for even deeper knowledge and wisdom, she started to study Buddhism in 2015. Since then she extensively studies the scriptures of the Tibetan Lam Rim and strives to put them into practice during her daily life. During part of the day she devotes herself to selected meditation practices.

Gerald did his Masters in 1993 in the field of International Relations. During his studies he started to deal with spiritual issues. Study as well as work exposures to India, Sri Lanka, Ruanda, Burundi, Sudan, Kenya and Tanzania posed many unanswered questions to him. In search for a deeper understanding of life he started his studies and practice of tibetan Buddhismus in 1995. Since then he was able to spend several years in meditational seclusion, following the advice of his personal spiritual guide.

Spiritualität

HappyFarm

Spiritualität

Spiritualität ist für uns nichts Abgehobenes und vom alltäglichen Leben Getrenntes, sondern der Ausdruck der Motivation in den vielfältigsten Handlungsformen. So ist es für uns selbstverständlich, dass jedes Lebewesen, sei es auch noch so klein, im Grunde, so wie wir auch, nur frei sein möchte von Leiden und entsprechend seinen Möglichkeiten nach Glück strebt. Deshalb praktizieren wir auf unserem Hof gewaltfreie Landwirtschaft und sind in unserem Alltag bemüht, keinem Lebewesen zu schaden oder es mutwillig zu töten. Folglich verzichten wir auf unserem Hof auch auf das Schlachten und den Fleischverzehr. Seit vielen Jahren leben wir vegatarisch und betreiben mit den Tieren die mit uns leben eine Art Tauschhandel - wir versorgen sie mit Futter sowie medizinisch und sie teilen mit uns ihre Produkte wie Milch und Eier. Aus der Ziegenmilch stellen wir für den eigenen Verzehr Joghurt und verschiedene Käsesorten her. Wir verwenden im Gemüseanbau keinerlei Pestizide oder Herbizide, nicht einmal die von den Bio-Verbänden zugelassenen natürlichen Mittel. Als Dünger dient uns der Dung unserer Ziegen, Pferde und Hühner. Wenn nötig behandeln wir unsere Gemüsepflanzen mit Homöopathie. Auch bei der Abwehr von Schnecken haben wir dabei schon sehr gute Erfahrungen gemacht, ohne sie zu töten.

Barbara hat den Einstieg in ihr spirituelles Leben über das Christentum und die Soziale Arbeit gefunden. Über 20 Jahre hat sie sich intensiv in christlichen Gemeinden engagiert und die Bibel ausgiebig und im Detail studiert. Seit 2015 hat sie, auf der Suche nach noch tieferer Weisheit begonnen, sich mit dem Buddhismus zu beschäftigen. Seither studiert sie die Schriften des tibetischen Lam Rim und bemüht sich diese im ihrem Alltag umzusetzen. Einen Teil des Tages widmet sie ausgewählten Meditationen.

Gerald hat während seines Studiums der Internationalen Beziehungen angefangen, sich mit spirituellen Fragen zu beschäftigen. Studien- und Arbeitseinsätze in Indien, Sri Lanka, Ruanda, Burundi, Sudan, Kenia und Tanzania haben ihm tiefe Denkanstösse gegeben. 1995 hat er mit dem Studium und der Praxis des tibetischen Buddhismus begonnen und konnte unter der Anleitung seines perönlichen Lehrers schon einige Jahre zurückgezogen in Klausur verbringen.